Return to Home


From the Bishop

Dear Friends in Christ,

Our Diocese’s newest postulant for holy orders is Joseph Francis from St. Peter & St. Paul Church in Arlington. He leaves for Nashotah House Seminary in August. A December graduate of Texas A&M, he was one of the founders of Anglican Aggies and has served as their chaplain/missioner in College Station since January. Please pray for him as he prepares for seminary.

Two ordinations are to take place in May. The Rev. Dr. Bryan Stewart will be ordained priest on Saturday, May 9, at St. Andrew’s Church in Breckenridge, and Lance Lormand will be ordained a transitional deacon on Saturday, May 16, at St. Andrew’s in Fort Worth. Both services are scheduled for 10:30 a.m., and visiting clergy are asked to vest and process in cassock, surplice, and white stole. In addition, Lance graduates from Nashotah House on May 21.

The diocesan Clergy Day will take place on Friday, May 22, at the Church of the Holy Apostles in Fort Worth. Coffee and conversation will begin at 9:30 a.m., followed by mass at 10 a.m. Our theme is the Persecution of Christians in North America. I expect this to be an edifying and encouraging day for our clergy.

Two candidates for the diaconate will be taking their canonical exams on Saturday, May 23: Carol Ozee from St. Francis Church in Willow Park, and Luis Banda from St. Timothy’s in Fort Worth. Please remember them in your prayers at this important time in their discernment and calling to be ordained deacons.

I will begin my three-month sabbatical on June 1. In my absence, Dean Emeritus William Crary will celebrate a weekly 10 a.m. mass in St. Leo’s Chapel, and he will be available by appointment afterwards, as may be needed. Bishop Wantland will be making two parish visitations for me during the summer: at Holy Apostles in Fort Worth on July 19, and at St. Gregory’s in Mansfield on August 16. Here too, he may be seen by appointment, if necessary, by making arrangements through Susan Steele at the Diocesan Center. Needless to say, I can be contacted by text, email or telephone in cases where I must be consulted or informed about anything.

Faithfully in Christ,

The Rt. Rev. Jack Leo Iker
Fort Worth III