The Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth
Equipping the Saints for the Work of Ministry

The Lord has done great things for us
The 28th Annual
Diocesan Convention
November 12 & 13, 2010 • Hosted by the Western Deanery

  Nominees for Elective Office in the Diocese


Standing Committee • elect 1 clerical and 1 lay member  
clerical nominees
Fr. Kresowaty Fr. Edward Kresowaty is Rector of St. Alban's, Arlington, and the former Rector of Good Shepherd, Granbury. He has served on the diocesan Executive Council, the Committee on Constitution and Canons, and the Clergy Compensation Committee. He is chair of the Resolutions Committee for diocesan convention. In 2006 he served as an alternate deputy to General Convention. He also serves at the University of Texas at Arlington's Compliance for Education in Human Subjects Research Committee.  
  Fr. Phelps Fr. John Phelps is Priest-in-Charge at St. Luke’s, Mineral Wells, and Vicar of Holy Spirit, Graham, and St. Peter’s, Possum Kingdom Lake. He has served on the diocesan Executive Council and Evangelism Commission and as a leader in the TELET program. Fr. Phelps has worked with the youth of the diocese as a Camp Crucis chaplain and as a faculty member at the St. Michael's Conference Southwest. He is a member of the Kiwanis Club.  
  Fr. Zeke Rogers Fr. Zeke Rogers is Rector of St. Gregory's, Mansfield. He formerly served at All Saints’, Fort Worth, and St. Mark's, Arlington. He is chaplain to the diocesan Stephen Ministers and to the Westside Fort Worth chapter of the Order of St. Luke the Physician. He is a member of the diocesan Evangelism Commission and has made mission trips to St. Petersburg, Russia, and Kenya.  
  Fr. Wooten Fr. Scott Wooten is Rector of Good Shepherd, Wichita Falls. He chairs the diocesan Youth Ministry Committee and is secretary of the Commission on Ministry for the Priesthood. He is active in the Boy Scouts of America as a scout master and vice president of the Northwest Texas Council of the BSA. He has contributed to the development of a Christian formation program for the new Anglican province.  
lay nominees
Robert Lea Robert Lea is a member of St. Matthias’, Dallas. He has served as Senior Warden and Chancellor of the parish, and co-chaired two capital campaigns for the 50-year-old congregation. He has served at the altar and as a Christian education leader. He chaired the Outreach Commission and the Evangelism Commission and volunteered at the Austin Street Shelter in Dallas. In recent years he was a member of the Anglican Communion Network Steering Committee. In the Diocese of Dallas, he served on Executive Council, the Commission on MInistry, and as an Alternate Deputy to General Convention. He is president of St. Simon's After-School Care, a program serving the Dallas ISD at 16 locations.  
  Alann Sampson Alann Sampson is a member of St. Andrew's, Fort Worth. She is a vestry member, past Stewardship Committee chair, and Small Group leader. She serves on the Altar Guild and is a Stephen Minister. She has headed the Van Cliburn Foundation since 1994 (including the Cliburn piano competitions of 1997, 2001, 2005, and 2009). She spent 10 years in the banking industry. Her civic involvement includes positions both past and present with the Curtis Institute, Streams and Valleys, the Fort Worth Symphony, and the TCU College of Fine Arts.  
  Ron Turner Ron Turner is a member of St. Vincent's Cathedral in Bedford, where he serves as verger and lay eucharistic minister. In three terms on vestry, he has served as both Senior and Junior Warden, clerk, etc. He has chaired numerous special committees for the congregation and served on the 2001-02 rector search committee. He is the cathedral's webmaster and editor of the church's monthly newsletter. He is a founding member of the diocesan Verger's Guild and is a seven-time delegate to our convention. He is a certified travel counselor and a life member of the Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity.  
  Larry Votto Larry Votto is a member of St. Laurence, Grapevine. He has been a member of Christian Formation mission trips to Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya, and Bolivia. In the parish, he has served as a lay reader, lay eucharistic minister, catechist, convention delegate, and vestry member. At the diocesan level he serves on the Commission on Ministry for the Diaconate.  
Ecclesiastical Trial Court • elect 1 clerical member  
clerical nominees
Fr. Atwood Fr. Jay Atwood is Rector of St. Francis of Assisi, Willow Park. He has also led St. Matthew's, Comanche, and Good Shepherd, Brownwood. He is the former Dean of the Western Deanery and represented the diocese at five TEC General Conventions. Currently he is a elected representative to conventions of the ACNA. He is an examining chaplain for the Commission on Ministry for the Diaconate. He serves as chaplain to community groups including the Aledo Fire Department and the Texas Motor Speedway. He is a member of the Willow Park Board of Adjustments and has been active in Scouting and the Aledo ISD.  
  Fr. Randall Foster Fr. Randall Foster is School Chaplain at St. Vincent's Cathedral in Bedford. He presently serves on the Commission on Ministry for the Diaconate and is a faculty member of the St. Michael's Conference for youth. Before answering God's call to the priesthood, he was an associate in a Midland law firm. He blogs at  
  Fr. Matkin Fr. Timothy Matkin is vicar of St. Matthew’s, Comanche, and Trinity, Dublin. Previously he served at All Saints’, Fort Worth, and St. Alban's, Arlington, where he was Assistant Rector and Canterbury House Chaplain. At the diocesan level he is a member of the Spiritual Life Committee and has served on the Commission on Ministry for the Diaconate as an examiner of ordinands. He is a member of the faculty of St. Anselm's School and the St. Michael’s Conference Southwest. He is a former member of the Ecclesiastical Trial Court. He blogs at  


Additional Positions to Be Filled by Election
At the deanery level, one representative is elected from each deanery each year.
To make a nomination for the vacancy in your deanery, please read Canon 35 and use this form. The deadline is seven days before your deanery meeting.
Back to main page