Return to Home
The Bishop's Article
How to find us.
Church Directory
Very Useful Stuff
Diocesan Calendar
Diocesan Convention News
For treasurers and administrators

21st Diocesan Convention
Nov. 7 & 8, 2003
“Called, Empowered, and Sent”

Pre-Convention Deanery Meetings

Western Deanery

Sunday, October 5, 2003
4:00 P.M.

St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
600 N.W. 6th Street
Mineral Wells, TX 76067
940 325-2244

Ft. Worth West Deanery

Monday, October 20, 2003
7:00 P.M.

Holy Apostles Episcopal Church
3900 Longvue Ave.
Ft. Worth, TX 76126
817 560-7187

Eastern Deanery

Tuesday, October 14, 2003
6:45 P.M.

St. Laurence Episcopal Church
519 N. Kimball Ave.
Southlake, TX 76092
817 481-3335



Northern Deanery

Date change: Thursday, October 16, 2003
7:00 P.M.

All Saint’s Episcopal Church
2606 S.W. Parkway
Wichita Falls, TX 76308
940 692-2606

Ft. Worth East Deanery

Date change: Tuesday, October 14, 2003
7:00 P.M.

St. Luke’s in the Meadow
4301 Meadowbrook Drive
Ft. Worth, TX 76103
817 534-4925

Southern Deanery

Sunday, October, 12
3:00 P.M.

St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
595 N. McIlhaney
Stephenville, TX 76401
254 968-6949

View a list of churches by deanery


Nominations for Standing Committee
Clerical Member (elect one)

Fr. Thomas Hightower has served as the Rector of the Church of St. Peter and St. Paul in Arlington for the past 19 years. He served as a Clerical Deputy to the General Conventions of 1997, 2000, and 2003. Fr. Hightower is Chairman of the Commission on Ministry for the Priesthood and has served on that Commission for the past 16 years. He has previously served two terms as a member of the Standing Committee of the Diocese and is currently serving as a member of the Ecclesiastical Trial Court.

The Rev. Canon Robert Young is the Rector of St. Andrew’s, Grand Prairie, where he has been for the past eight years. Canon Young is a Commander in the United States Navy Reserve as a Chaplain and serves on the Board of The Anglican School of Theology. He is the former chairman of the Nominations Committee of the Diocesan Convention and is quite popular with his Church History presentations among the Episcopal Church Women and the Diocesan Altar Guild.

Lay Member (elect one)

Chet Szydlowski, a member of St. Stephen’s, Hurst, is currently serving a term on the Ecclesiastical Trial Court. He was previously a member of St. Vincent’s Cathedral in Bedford where he served on the vestry and as junior warden. He founded St. Vincent’s chapter of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew, coordinated the Diocese’s chapter, and currently serves as the Province VII President of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew National Council.

Walter Virden, III, is a member of St. Marks’s, Arlington, and has represented the Diocese as a Deputy to General Convention six times previously. He is currently serving a six-year term as a member of the Standing Commission on Stewardship and Development of the General Convention of the Episcopal Church. He previously served the General Convention as a member of the Rules of Order Committee and Stewardship Committee. On the Diocesan level, he serves as the Treasurer of the Diocese, the Secretary of the Board of Trustees, and is a member of the Executive Council and Finance Committee.

Nominations for Ecclesiastical Trial Court
Clerical Member (elect one)

The Very Rev. Richard McHenry has been canonically resident in the Diocese since 1983, having served on the staff of All Saints’ Church, Fort Worth. He has been Rector of Holy Comforter in Cleburne since 1991. He is currently Dean of the Southern Deanery and is a member of the Diocesan World Mission Committee.


The Rev. Canon Laurens Williams is the former Rector of All Saints’ Church, Weatherford, where he served for 27 years. Since his retirement from All Saints’, he has served in several full-time interim ministries throughout the Diocese, including St. Timothy’s, Fort Worth and St. Andrew’s, Grand Prairie. Fr. Williams is one of the senior priests in the Diocese of Fort worth. He has served as a member of the Standing Committee, Executive Council and the Ecclesiastical Court. He is currently secretary of the Diocesan Convention and a member of the Commission on Ministry.

Lay Member (elect one)

Dr. Frank Salazar is a member of St. Alban’s, Arlington, and has served as an alternate delegate to Convention for the parish. Dr. Salazar served as a Deputy to General Convention in 2000 and 2003. On the Diocesan level he currently serves as President of the Board of Trustees of the Diocese, is a member of the Standing Committee, member of the Steering Committee for The Bishop’s Conference and has held positions on the Executive Council, and the Finance Committee. He is the past president of the Executive Board of the Episcopal Center for Renewal.

Mr. Charles Salter, Jr., long time member of All Saints’ Church, Wichita Falls, has served on the Executive Council, the Finance Committee and . He is the Acolyte Master for All Saints’ Church and has a long time association with the Boy Scouts of America. He is a recipient of the St. George’s Award, which is the highest award given to volunteers in scouting. He and his wife Jean are active in diocesan work.

Nominee for Lay Trustee
of the University of the South
Lay Member (elect one)

Mr. Walter Virden, IV, is a member of St. John’s, Fort Worth. He is an usher and a bilingual Lector in the Spanish language service. He is serving as the current Admissions Office Representative of the University of the South. He is a Graduate of the University of the South and is an adult leader of Boy Scout Troop 560.

(no other nominations received)



Just resolution has been submitted for consideration at the convention.

Resolution No. ____1_____

REMARKS: This resolution comes from the Clergy Compensation Committee, consisting of Rod Barber-Chairman, Walter Virden, Dr. Frank Salazar, and the Rev. Ed Kresowaty in consultation with the Rev. Canon Charles Hough, III.

This resolution was approved by the Executive Council on September 10, 2003.

RESOLUTION: Presented to the 21st Annual Convention of the
Diocese of Ft. Worth.

Right Reverend Sir:
We present the following resolution:
WHEREAS: The Diocese of Ft. Worth ranks 15th out of 99 domestic dioceses in dollars per household giving and, clergy compensation ranks 65th out of 99 domestic dioceses, which results in an inequity in the level of clergy compensation,
WHEREAS: It is the desire of the Executive Council to assure that the compensation paid to our full time rectors, vicars and curates (not retired and not Diocesan curates) is commensurate with the compensation level throughout the American province and is both reasonable and fair,
BE IT RESOLVED: The minimum stipend and housing per annum paid, to a full time priest in the Episcopal Diocese of Ft. Worth be increased from the current $40,000.00 by $1,200.00 annually for the next five years effective as of January 1, 2004.

Requested, submitted and approved by the Executive Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth and does require motion or second.


Contents of the July 28 Packet




| Bishop | Staff | Location | Churches| Documents | Calendar |
| Convention | Home |