The Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth
2900 Alemeda Street
Fort Worth, TX 76116
817-244-2885 voice
817-244-3363 fax

The Rt. Rev. Jack. Leo Iker, Bishop


At right: Fr. David Klein, rector of St. John's, Fort Worth, and two of his parishioners erected the sign that now stands at the corner of Fairfax Avenue and Shackleford Street. The sign was a gift of the people of St. John's.





Hispanic Episcopal congregation
to locate church
in Southeast Fort Worth neighborhood


FORT WORTH, Texas – The mission congregation of Iglesia San Miguel, founded in the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth in 1999, has announced plans to purchase the property at 3605 E. Fairfax Avenue, where it will establish a permanent church home. The Rev. Sergio Diaz, vicar of the congregation, will hold services in an existing building on the lot until a 6,000 square foot, steel-frame building can be constructed there.

For the five years since the mission was established, San Miguel has been hosted and encouraged by St. Michael’s Episcopal Church in Richland Hills, Texas. Currently the people of San Miguel are worshipping with the people of Santa Anna, at St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Fort Worth, where Fr. Diaz is vicar to the Hispanic communicants. Fr. Diaz and his flock expect to move to the new location on Fairfax Avenue in June.

Commenting on the news, the Rt. Rev. Jack Leo Iker, Bishop of Fort Worth, said, “Having a permanent home of their own will provide a great boost to this growing congregation. We congratulate the people of San Miguel and Fr. Diaz on this wonderful achievement and wish them well in their future development.”

San Miguel is the second Hispanic Episcopal congregation to be established in the city. Iglesia San Juan Apostol, founded in 1985, is located at 3725 S. Adams, and is among the largest Sunday congregations in the diocese. Growth in ministry in the Hispanic community has been one of the primary goals of Bishop Iker’s episcopacy.

The Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth consists of 56 congregations serving 24 north central Texas counties. The major cities in the diocese include Fort Worth, Arlington, Hurst-Euless-Bedford, Wichita Falls, Grand Prairie, Richland Hills, Brownwood, and Stephenville. The Rt. Rev. Jack L. Iker has served as the third Diocesan Bishop of Fort Worth since 1995. The diocese enjoys companion relationships with the Dioceses of Northern Malawi and Northern Mexico.


Contact: Suzanne Gill
Director of Communications
The Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth
817-244-2885 ext. 11